top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorian Block

The Idea File

Prompt: the idea file is a box or digital folder where you keep a collection of design examples that are interesting to you as referenced in this article.

My idea file will be an ever growing collection which you can find on my Pinterest board of the same name. Below, are four of my most recently saved ads which I find pleasing or that exemplify some of the design concepts that I've learned about in my Theories of Visual Communication course:


Endless Summer

GQ's Endless Summer in the Hamptons ad, which I actually stumbled across while collaging in an art therapy session and later had to look up the ad, is what I believe to be a perfect example of two concepts that we learned about in class: contrast and balance. This ad takes advantage of the Phi or Golden Ratio by positioning the graphic in that ascetically pleasing division of space. This ad also is a good example of type contrast with weight, size, font and color all while including all of the many sponsors within the design which I know from experience is required and difficult.


Tops on Top


I came across Silverstone's 'Tops on Top' ad in one of the interior design magazines while working on an assignment last week and found the paired messaging and image effectively provocative. I was flipping through pages rapidly and would have easily brushed over a white counter top in front of a white background as there are numerous ads of the same type in these types of magazines, but the bold text caught my eye and I immediately flipped back to see if I had read it correctly. From that alone I felt the ad achieved it's goal.


Your Project Here

As a an art minor the contrast of the colors juxtaposed with the white and gray setting of this Baxter painting ad caught my eye, I have also executed a similar design concept for an Instagram campaign to promote the gallery space at the company I worked at without the color contrast but utilizing the same call out of words. The post, which you can view below, did well receiving higher engagement than any other photos on our page and achieved the goal of getting the artist audience to take the desired action by booking our space.


Whats Your Angle?

I came across this two page Cannon: Whats Your Angle ad in GQ. I am a Canon photographer myself so I am naturally biased, but was drawn in by both the photo and the text. This ad is another great example of contrast from the separation of the image and color block as well as the white copy on a red background.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page