top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorian Block

Ransoming Contrast and Balance

Prompt: Find three examples of contrast, one example must be TYPE contrast

I was traveling to visit my in-laws in Texas for my assignments this week which lent to an interesting discovery of the type of advertising that home design utilizes. I had to entreat my mother-in-law, who is a special homes architect, for some collaging materials and she, naturally, had allot of interior design related magazines. As I began flipping through I started tearing out every other page and very quickly realized that the entire genre of home design related advertising was, in fact, utilizing contrast. There was every example in the book and I had to limit myself as soon as I realized this to only the truly best examples of contrast. So, here is my gallery of contrast related advertising courtesy of the magazines: Modern Luxury Interiors Texas and Dallas/Fort Worth's Home and Garden Magazine:


I tried to limit my marble related ads because there are so many (it is an easy and stark contrast to layer a black box over white marble), but I had to include the bonus daltile ad for my coworker who used to work for a company that sold this tile and is like the world's leading expert in daltile. She can enter into any room and tell you exactly which daltile products are present. So, the extra one is for you, Monica.
Prompt: Find magazines or newspapers (freebies are fine) and cut out different (contrast) and create a ransom note – yes glue and paper!

Prompt: Sketch out three invites to your party – make one symmetrical, one asymmetrical, and one party invite (the fun one) will be unbalanced!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page